“There’s someth…

For those who missed the episode of Scandal on Nov 7th, Lisa Kudrow’s character, Josie Marcus, a contender for the Democratic presidential nomination, delivered an ‘epic’ speech on sexism (see Huffington Post article).

“There’s something my grandmother used to do whenever I’d start dating someone. I would tell her his name and she would say, ‘Oh, what part of town does he live in?’ That was her way of asking if my boyfriend was white. Oh yeah, my grandmother was an out and out racist, so I know what prejudice looks like. It’s not about experience, James, it’s about gender. Reston’s saying I don’t have the balls to be president and he means that literally. It’s offensive. It’s offensive to me and to all the women and to all the women whose votes he’s asking for…. The only reason we’re doing this interview in my house is because you requested it. This was your idea and yet here you are, thanking me for inviting you into my “lovely home.” That’s what you say to the neighbor lady who baked you chocolate chip cookies. This pitcher of iced tea isn’t even mine, it’s what your producer sent here. Why? Same reason you called me a “real-life Cinderella story,” it reminds people that I’m a woman without using the word. For you it’s an angle, I get that and I’m sure you think it’s innocuous, but guess what? It’s not.”

Too bad most people don’t remember Hillary Clinton took a not-so-dissimilar stand, years ago… and in real life.

(Albeit in a less composed-I wouldn’t have been either- manner, though to the point and nonetheless worthy of note)

“I am the secretary of state, not my husband”

– reply at a press conference, when asked about Mr. Clinton’s thoughts on a matter.

Leave a Reply

