Cole Kiley on Thought Catalog: “When You’re Really Good At Being Alone”

Thought Catalog

Screen Shot 2014-03-15 at 3.56.36 PM

I know how to be alone better than anything else. Alone at a restaurant, alone at the movies, while taking a long drive. I know how to be alone in my bed during brutal winter nights, when all I need is another body under my blankets. And when the air is so hot and thick, I can’t imagine anything touching my skin. During holidays when every other person in the room has somebody to love. I know how to be alone when everything is crumbling into a thousand pieces and there is no body by my side while I try to pick them up. And while I am on top of the world, when nothing can tear me down.

I have mastered the art of being alone. During my best and worst self. I know how to make it, and live fully through life with no one next to me.

View original post 287 more words

Leave a Reply

